The Japan Foundation
Performing Arts Network Japan
Archive Index Home
Japan Topics
Soliciting applicants for the 6th Toyota Choreography Awards 2008 contest
 Established in 2001 in conjunction with the Setagaya Public Theatre, the Toyota Choreography Award seeks to discover and cultivate the next generation of choreographers by bringing attention to individual and characteristic choreography. Applications are now being accepted for contestants for what will be the 6th Toyota Choreography Award in 2008. The deadline for applications is January 7, 2008. The qualifications for applicants is that they be choreographers who are Japanese nationals or residents of Japan or have their working base in Japan and have had their works performed in Japan. There are no restrictions regarding genre.
The winner of the “NEXTAGE” Choreographer Award, which is the grand prize, receives a prize of \2 million and the right to have a performance the next year a the Setagaya Public Theatre or the Theatre Tram, and the Kanazawa 21st Century Museum. For the 2008 awards a new NEXTAGE prize has been established that will be awarded with a prize of \300,000 to one contestant.
The application contents, selections process and selections committee members are as shown below.
+Application and selection outline for the Toyota Choreography Awards 2008
Application Period
Nov. 16, 2007 to Jan. 7, 2008 (post marked)
Open applications and some recommendations from nationwide theater professionals

Application Process
Fill out the designated application form and send it to the Toyota Choreography Award office along with a video/film of the work to be submitted (DVD/VHS/mini-DV). Only one work per choreographer will be accepted and it must be the choreographer’s own work choreographed since 2003. There are no restrictions on the theme of the work or format, such as for solo duo or group.

Selection Process
+ First Stage
The first stage of the selection process takes place in the middle of February 2008 based on the applicants’ submitted videos and documents. The First Stage Selections Committee chooses 16 semi finalists to proceed to the Second Stage.
+ Second Stage
The Finalist Selection takes place on April 19, 2008 based on contestant performances open to the public.
Venue: Morishita Studio (Tokyo)
Six finalists are selected by the Finalist Selection Committee.
+ NEXTAGE–Final Award Selection
Date: June 28, 2008
Venue: Setagaya Public Theatre
The “NEXTAGE Choreographer Award” and the “NEXTAGE Special Award” will be awarded to one choreographer each by the Toyota Choreography Awards NEXTAGE Selections Committee, and two “Audience Awards” based on audience voting will be given to two choreographers.
+ Awards Ceremony, Winner Performances
Date: June 29, 2008
Venue: Setagaya Public Theatre

NEXTAGE Selections Committee (for final selection)
John Ashford, Director of The Place Theatre, UK
Tatsuro Ishii, dance critic
Kim Ito, choreographer, dancer
Margaret Lawrence, Program Director of the Hopkins Theater, Dartmouth College, USA
+Applications, inquiries to:
Toyota Choreography Award office
4-34-18-213 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan 160-0023
Tel./FAX: (+81-0)3-3373-1166
+Toyota Motor Co., Ltd. Social Contribution