The Japan Foundation
Performing Arts Network Japan
Archive Index Home
May. 21, 2012
Japan Topics
8th Toyota Choreography Awards, 2012 finalists named
The Toyota Choreography Awards were established in 2001 for the purpose of finding and nurturing the next generation of talented choreographers, with Toyota Motor Corp. serving as sponsor in a tie-up with the Setagaya Public Theatre. Now in its 8th holding, the 2012 awards program attracted a total of 197 applicants from which six finalists have now been selected.
The finalists will perform their works (15 to 20 minutes in length) before the public in the “Nextage” competition at the Setagaya Public Theatre on July 22 for the awards’ final judging, in which one “Choreographer of the Next Generation” prize and one Audience Prize will be awarded.
The winner of the Choreographer of the Next Generation prize gets the right to perform in the following year’s winners performance schedule and receives 2 million toward production cost, with Setagaya Public Theatre’s Theatre Tram provided as the performance venue and provided by and use of studio facilities at the Kanazawa 21st Century Museum during preparation.
Wataru Kitao
Yu Okamoto
Kaori Seki
Chiharu Shinoda
Yuriko Suzuki
Azusa Takeuchi
+The award’s judges
Naoyoshi Fujita, Director of The Museum of Art, Kochi
Yusuke Hashimoto, Program Director of KYOTO EXPERIMENT
Kazuyuki Kajiya, Director of Theater Department of Setagaya Public Theatre
Eri Karatsu, Producer of Aichi Triennale 2013 and Chief Curator of Aichi Arts Center
Yasuyo Kondo, Chief Program Coordinator of Kanazawa 21st Century Museum
Hiromi Maruoka, Director of TPAM in Yokohama
Yukako Ogura, Director of Itami AI Hall
+TOYOTA Choreography Award 2012 (Japanese only)