The Japan Foundation
Performing Arts Network Japan
Archive Index Home
Jan. 19, 2016
Japan Topics
22nd OMS Drama Prize awarded to Megumi Takahashi for Tareyueso
The 22nd OMS Drama Prize, an award sponsored by the Osaka Gas Co., Ltd. to recognize playwrights active in the Kansai region of Japan, held its final jury session at the Suita City Culture Center May Theater on Nov. 29, 2015. The Grand Prix was awarded to Megumi Takahashi for her play Tareyueso (Koku-ryodan company production), which portrays the endangered daily life of young women living communally in a town stripped of its men by war and nuclear contamination. The honorable mention winner was Shin Kurumizawa for his play Hina no Toride in a joint production by the companies Hikarinoryouchi and Koku-ryodan. Both of these works premiered in 2014 at Osaka’s Wing Field.
A book containing information about the winning works, the jury comments and the selection process will be published in March 2016. Information about the 11 finalist works can be seen on the official website.
+Nominated Finalist Works
Nen IshiharaSilence
Katsuyuki IjichiCanoe Radio
Nami KunoStage version “A man who doesn’t look like a hero / A man with a can of coffee in his hand”
Audience version “A woman sitting in a chair / A man lining up chairs”
Shin KurumizawaHina no Toride
Megumi TakahashiTareyueso
Tsuyoshi TanabeScattered (deeply)
Atsushi TsuchihashiFar away from that town
Kazuko TsutsuiHumberbarting’s satellite broadcast
Kenshi NakamuraLighthouse
Tadashi Hashimoto    Ghost
Akira YamazakiSuper Fuiction
Yorozu Ikuta, Makoto Sato, Toshiro Suzue, Yumi Suzuki, Eri Watanabe
+OMS Drama Prize Office/Osaka Gas Business Create Co., Ltd. (Japanese)